Department of History and Archaeology


The Department of History and Archeology is one of the 13 Departments of the Faculty of Philosophy of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens. The Department consists of two Sections:

  • Department of History
  • Department of Archeology and History of Art.

It also has:

  • Museum of Archeology and History of Art. The Archaeological Park Unit, the Maintenance Unit and the Digital Photographic Applications Unit belong to the Museum.
  • Historical Research and Documentation Laboratory. The laboratory includes the Digital Imprinting Unit of the Public and Private Life of the Byzantines (4th - 15th century).
  • Archeology and Art History Laboratory. The laboratory also includes the Environmental Archeology Unit.
  • Informatics Unit and Digital Teaching Room belonging to both Laboratories of the Department